Great North Walk gear pile

It’s now only two more sleeps until the start of my Great North Walk adventure. All that’s left to do is to buy spare batteries, pack everything into my hiking pack and stop at a shop in Sydney to pick up gas for my stove. I’ve even booked off-site airport parking (for the bargain price of $66 for 15 days, which is cheaper than having my partner dropping me off and picking my up).

Here’s my gear list:

Food

  • I posted about my food list here

Camp

Cooking

Navigation, safety and communications

Clothing

Miscellaneous

Pack

  • Black Wolf Glacier Bay 75

Other than gardening and painting the walls in my house, I’ve been taking it easy these last few days leading in to the hike so that I’m fresh when I hit the trail.

8 responses to “Great North Walk gear pile

  1. So exciting! Can’t wait to read about it!

  2. Good Luck! I can’t wait to read about your trip!!

  3. You’ll have a great time. Hey, you might even see me and my mate Roysta who regularly do many of the sections between Sydney and Brooklyn during our “20k Tuesdays”… before lunch, adventures. Favourite bits? I love Jerusalem Bay between Cowan and Brooklyn, but getting back up the hill out of it with your pack will be fun. Also, I love how you can be so close to houses and the urban environment, yet feel in the middle of absolutely nowhere. The pub in Brooklyn is always good to get the typical Aussie glare from small town locals when you walk in, they’re harmless really, and the beer is cold!
    I’ve swum in Brooklyn Dam (the reports of me naked are completely unfounded ;-)), so if you’re feeling in need of a wash, go of it.
    Expect the odd leech in the lush green valleys and tracks, especially after all this horrid rain we’ve had… Oh and importantly, did you know the Calna Creek bridge is currently broken? Ie. no crossing at all… It’s under about a metre of water.
    Apart from all that, you’ll have a wonderful time. Enjoy, breathe and go with the flow….

    • Thank you for the tips. LOL about Brooklyn Dam. I might see your mate Roysta because I’ll be walking Sydney to Baden Powell Scout Camp tomorrow (Tuesday). If I see someone running in the area I’ll try to remember to sing out … might give them a fright – haha.

      Thanks for the tip on the Brooklyn Pub and the Brooklyn Dam.

      Yep – am expecting leeches. There’s a geocache I’m hoping to find that has a leech warning on it.

      Yep, I read the Calna Creek Bridge is broken. I read that I need to detour up the road through Karingai and then back down to the section north of Sam Creek.

      I’m very much looking forward to the break away from real life. Nothing like a few weeks in nature to get some perspective and rest 🙂

  4. Have a great time Andrew, cannot wait to hear all about it! Take care bud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

