Cycling for Hope – It all starts tomorrow

The wheels keep spinning

The wheels keep spinning

I have brought the start of Cycling for Hope forward by one day to Friday 19 July 2013. I will be cycling 100km every day from tomorrow 19 July until Sunday 18 August 2013 to raise money to help Nakuru Hope buy 5 acres (2 hectares) of land so they can feed their community and help women set up small businesses so they don’t have to rely on prostitution to feed their children.

Enjoying the Bayview swamps

Enjoying the Bayview swamps

I am looking forward to the challenge, which I hope will see me enjoying some fun mountain bike trails.

Lights reflecting on wet bikeway

Lights reflecting on wet bikeway

It will no doubt see me riding some long commuter miles at night to try to fit the 4-6 hours of cycling around my full-time job and part-time university study commitments.

Stopping for a flat

Country roads

I am looking forward to weekend rides exploring town and country roads.

School children

School children

Graduates of the sewing classes

Graduates of the sewing classes

Kaptembwo slums near Nakuru, Kenya

Kaptembwo slums near Nakuru, Kenya

But most importantly, I hope this month on the bike will raise money to bring hope, food and opportunity to the people of Nakuru. People I have never met. But people whose lives so touched my parents that they committed to raise $50,000 to purchase the land Nakuru Hope need to grow food for their community and to match every dollar raised from their private savings.

All donations, whether $5 or $100 will be gratefully received and matched. You will receive an official Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid. You can donate here.

Leave a Reply

