Cycling for Hope – Day 3

A great day for a ride

A great day for a ride

After riding in the rain on days 1 and 2, I was delighted see bright blue skies outside this morning. I was supposed to go to the Franchising and Business Opportunities Expo in the city for one of my university electives so that’s how I picked my 100km route. And what a route it was. I enjoyed myself so much I ditched the expo (um mah) and just enjoyed my day in the sun (attendance at the expo isn’t assessable).

New Farm Park

New Farm Park

Half of Brisbane seemed to be out in all the riverside parks enjoying the sunshine. A saxophonist played mournful tunes under a road bridge. Rock climbers dangled from ropes at the Kangaroo Point cliffs. Children tottered around on scooters and training-wheeled bicycles. Teenagers spun tricks on skateboards. Family picnics were decorated with balloons. Jumping castles had been set up. Young couples gazed into each others’ eyes over cafe tables. More mature couples walked hand in hand along the waterfront parks. Elderly people sat on park benches watching the goings on.

Lunch time

Lunch time

I stopped to enjoy the parks and riverside scenery. I had some fruit at Kangaroo Point, vegie chips at New Farm Park, and a chicken and mushroom wrap in the Botanic Gardens. No way was I going to make the city section of my ride about mileage when there was so much to enjoy. And then it was time to get back on the bikeway to ride the 40-ish kilometres back home.

Total: 100.8km cycling

Cumulative Cycling for Hope total: 301.4km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate.

4 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 3

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day.

  2. Looks like you are having a ball Andrew! 🙂

Leave a Reply

