Cycling for Hope – Day 4

A fast flat road by Andrew Gills
A fast flat road, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

Originally, I thought I would be cycling to and from university to make up my 100km on Mondays and Wednesdays (classes started again today for semester 2). But the more I thought about it, the more an early morning seemed like a better option than still being on my bike at 10pm. And what a good decision it turned out to be.

My partner had to get up at 3:30am to go to work so I also rose ridiculously early to hit the road. The first 16km went well until I felt the telltale softening of my rear wheel. It turns out that I didn’t remove a piece of glass embedded in my tire since Saturday. So a quick change and I was off again.

The V1 is a bikeway that runs between Brisbane and the Gold Coast. The section south from Beenleigh is fast, flat and fairly quiet in the early hours of the day. The only down side is the disgusting smell of the pet food factory. That just made me ride faster to get past it.

I got about 73km done in 2:40:22, which is fast for me. I rode the final 27km as a slow and steady commute on the Purple Monster.

I discovered today that I’m not eating enough. I felt a bit fatigued at work. I decided to log my food intake for the past two days on MapMyRide.com and found that I’ve got a calorie deficit of about 2,500 calories. No wonder I was a bit tired (not so fatigued that I was worried). So I spent the rest of the day eating lots of food and will continue to do so over the coming weeks.

Total: 100.4km
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 401.8km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook. It’s a public page that you can follow here:Ā https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.Ā  Click here to donate.

8 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 4

  1. Proper nutrition is always the weakest part of my training plans. Plus, you did lose some weight on your Great North Walk, so maybe that is playing a part as well.

    • I think that’s playing a part too hey. I often find proper nutrition challenging too. I find I either overeat or under eat. I’m going to Sizzler tomorrow night with my best friend because we decided that I will actually get value for money for the first time ever (Sizzler is relatively expensive here in Australia)

  2. Egads! Eat for crying out loud. That is a HUGE deficit (I believe that’s the amount of calories one should take IN šŸ˜‰

    • Haha Sandra. I was eating … I ate about 3,000 – 3,500 calories but thought I was eating more. I need to get up to 6,000+ calories a day. So today I’m having two breakfasts (nasi goreng when I woke up and now bacon & egg muffins with my partner) and will see how I go from there. Riding during daylight hours today … working from home for the day so got some work done early

  3. Gotta get that food into you bud, would hate to see you fagged out on the side of the road somewhere!

    • Haha. Yep, hitting the food. After losing weight the first 3 days, I have regained what I lost and hope to maintain for the rest of the challenge. Am eating a lot more and better. Probably not enough greens but at least I’m fueling myself with carbs not sugars

Leave a Reply

