Cycling for Hope – Day 6

Cycling for Hope day 6 by Andrew Gills
Cycling for Hope day 6, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

After two days of riding fast, today I took things a bit slower. I felt strong on the bike and the kilometers slipped by. I started with a 53km ride this morning. Then a 14km commute to work. I ended the day with a 33km ride, ending up back at home.

The ride this morning was beautiful. The full moon shone so brightly that I had a moon shadow riding along with me. It’s been a long time since I saw my shadow by moonlight and I enjoyed the experience. I think it will be one of the things I really remember about this experience.

Thank you to everyone who is supporting me. I am drawing strength from the well wishes, donations and Facebook likes.

Total: 100.4km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 607.7km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate.

5 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 6

  1. The moon was beautiful here as well. I actually stood in the backyard last night looking up at it, thinking how strange it was that you were probably in full sunshine down under. I laughed when I saw you wrote about the moon today!

    • I find the time differences funny too. Especially that some parts of the US are a day behind us here in Australia. So I’m writing this at 9:25am on Thursday 25 July but I think it’s 6:25pm on Wednesday 24 July where you are because I think you mentioned once that you are in Texas (thanks Google).

      I love the moon hey. When I practiced Wicca the moon was the goddess who was all nature’s mother. I still can’t help but see the moon in that way.

      • And now you’re telling me you used to be a Wiccan? Andrew, the surprises just keep on coming. I think that’s a very apt personification of the moon. I have a friend who is a pagan, which is probably the same thing. Any belief system incorporating nature is good in my book. I don’t think God would mind at all, would She? 🙂

      • Oh I’ve been everything. I was born and raised Catholic but have practiced Wicca, Taoism, Buddhism, been part of the Metropolitan Community Church and even resorted to agnosticism at one stage (not in that order). I also did a lot of reading about Islam, Hinduism and Protestantism. I am a really spiritual person and when I was younger I went in search of a practice that might be more accepting of me as a transgender man. Ultimately, I have found a way to honour all the good things I picked up from my seeking in a way that works and makes sense to me. But given that I have a strong relationship with what I call my concept of God (because I think God is really personal concept for each individual), I just had to keep talking with him (he’s a he to me because I am a man and I want another man to talk with – God doesn’t have to be ‘he’ to those who prefer to talk with a female).

        I think that’s one of the reasons I am drawn to country music – because so much is about faith. Especially the country music coming out of America (Australian country music seems to avoid this topic).

        But I strongly believe in spiritual freedom and everyone’s right to believe or not believe what is right for them. I believe two people can come from fundamentally different faiths and disagree about the practices but agree that it’s wonderful that the other has a faith to hold onto. For example, one of my best friends is part of one of the fundamentalist Christian Churches. There’s a lot that church believes that I find offensive (for example, I will never be able to set foot in her church because I am transgendered and, therefore, have made a decision that God will not forgive). But her church looks after her and her faith is incredibly strong. And I 100% support and respect her faith and her church. And I ask her all the time to teach me more about her faith because there are things I can learn from it.

        I will always practice little bits of Wicca, Taoism and the other spiritual practices I’ve experienced in my life. My home is protected by white magic, I talk to the animals, I live differently depending on the seasons, I accept that everything is impermanent, and I know that my conception of God will always love me.

      • Well said. I love it. And I love that you love American country music, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

