Cycling for Hope – Day 10

A very windy day at the beach

A very windy day at the beach

I can’t believe I’ve cycled 1,000km in 10 days. I know that for some racing and touring cyclists this isn’t a lot. But for me, it’s a massive achievement that I’m proud of. It represents the first real milestone in my Cycling for Hope challenge.

This is what most of the V1 looks like

This is what most of the V1 looks like

Today I hit the V1 and cycled to the Gold Coast. The V1 itself is one of the most boring cycling routes anyone could devise. For the most part, it’s just an on-road cycle lane on the service road the runs next to the M1 (the highway between Brisbane and the Gold Coast). But what it lacks in scenery, it makes up for in relative safety and functionality. There were plenty of cyclists out on the V1 today training with serious faces down on their tri bars and cranking it out. I am so grateful that I no longer feel that pressure to train hard – I love my sport much more at a more relaxed pace. That’s not to say I don’t like to ride fast; but that’s different from training hard. I wanted to call out to them “look up and smile” but I get that they might smile when they get the results they are training for.

View of the Gold Coast from The Broadwater

View of the Gold Coast from The Broadwater

After 60km of riding I reached The Broadwater where I enjoyed a slow cruise along the waterfront. And when I say “slow”, I mean “fast walking pace”. See, I rode on the shared pathway and wanted to be polite to the pedestrians, families and children using the massive waterfront parkland. In case you haven’t noticed, I love the places where water meets land. I am not really keen on getting into water (other than the shower, which I love) but I love standing on the banks of rivers or the shores of oceans. So the Gold Coast was a fantastic destination for me.

Check out the glasses

Check out the glasses

I rode over to Main Beach and saw this statue. The statue itself wasn’t that interesting but the fact that someone had donated their sunglasses to protect the statue’s eyes is what caught my eye. That and the fish and chips at the surf club takeaway. Unfortunately, it was raining and the wind was whipping up the sand so I had to eat inside to protect my sanity. I’m finding it easier to make sure my body is fueled now that I’m ten days into the challenge.

Putting my feet up on the train

Putting my feet up on the train

And then I rode off to Nerang train station. I missed the 1:29pm train by 4 minutes, which means I was 26 minutes early for the 1:59pm train and could enjoy the rest. I’d ridden 82km and, despite the cold rain squalls, had enjoyed myself. After boarding the train, I swung my legs over the bike, leaned back into my seat and fell fast asleep. Fortunately, I didn’t sleep long and, after about 25 minutes, I was disembarking at Beenleigh train station to ride the final 19km home.

Total: 101.0km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,012.1km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

2 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 10

  1. Nice job Andrew, love the train pic!!

Leave a Reply

