Cycling for Hope – Day 11 (over 33% completed)

It’s Monday morning so I was back to my weekday routine after some glorious sleep ins over the weekend. The alarm went off at 3:30am so I wandered around the house feeding the cat, grabbing a quick feed and getting dressed to hit the road around 4:00am.

Today I rode out to Cleveland Point where I enjoyed the lights of the Port of Brisbane glowing off in the distance. I just love the way the camera picked up the orange light and spread it across the sky. It almost looks like the pictures of African savanas I’ve seen in books (never having been to Africa I can only imagine).

From here I rode to Point O’Halloran where I enjoyed a slow cruise along the waterfront bike path.

At 7:00am I was at home for a shower and cooked breakfast. Then at 7:45am I got back on my bike to commute the 14km to work. I got some more practice changing a flat tyre (that’s four in eleven days) after a nail got stuck in it. The guy at my LBS said four flats in 1,100km isn’t too bad.

After work I still had 30km to ride so I stopped at my LBS to buy some more tubes and to organise for my headset bearings to be replaced next week (these bearings have been in the bike for 17 years without ever being serviced so no wonder I haven’t been able to steer so well). Then a quick out and back in commuter traffic before heading home.

In other exciting news, my local paper published an article about my Cycling for Hope ride. I did some gratuitous self-promotion before starting the challenge by calling them and they’ve run with it.

A couple of weeks ago the Gay News Network also ran a story after I told my editor about my challenge (I write a regular column for Queensland Pride).

Total: 102.1km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,114.2km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

4 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 11 (over 33% completed)

  1. 17 yr old bearings!!!!

  2. Great story and photo Andrew!!

Leave a Reply

