Cycling for Hope – Day 12

SE Fwy Bikeway by Andrew Gills
SE Fwy Bikeway, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I had the day off work with my partner. See, my partner works weekends and has two days off during the week. Once a fortnight, we have one day off together. And yesterday was that day.

We got up late. She made us a cooked breakfast. We caught up on some TV shows. We went out for a coffee. It was glorious.

But that’s not what you came here to read is it? You want to know how day 12 of Cycling for Hope went. The short answer is that it went well.

I didn’t set off until about 1pm. For the first half hour I rode with my partner, who was out on her walk. Then I continued on to Body Leadership Australia in Coorpooroo for a physio appointment. Paul’s elbows hurt as they dug into my leg muscles but it was a good hurt.

An hour later I was back on my bike heading home. I decided to do a loop by taking the South East Freeway Bikeway to get home. This is one of my favourite places to ride because it’s a sealed and relatively flat off-road path.

It was fairly busy on the bikeway, given that I hit it at about 4:45pm. Commuter cyclists of all shapes and styles rode at all speeds. Some raced past me. I rode past others. One gutsy lady was walking her bike up the one notable hill on the ride – one day she will make it up without getting off. Some cyclists were invisible in their dark clothing and minimalist lighting (seriously, those single leds don’t give off much light people). Others were wearing high visibility vests and using multiple tail lights.

I had to ‘find’ some kilometres on my way home so did some laps to make up the 100km.

Total: 100.3km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,214.5km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

Leave a Reply

