Cycling for Hope – Day 14

Today saw a return to some scenic riding. With my partner on evening shift, I didn’t feel the need to rush home tonight so I took it fairly easy by cycling 50km before work and then 50km after.

The morning ride took me through some of the more scenic parts of my local area. One of our local roads has been closed for over six months for re-routing and to surface an old gravel section. It’s open again so I took the opportunity to check out what’s changed on this, one of my favourite roads. Other than the new surface, not much had changed – the road still passed the miniature pony stud (they are cute from a distance 😉 ) and wallabies still hopped crazily across the road in front of my bike.

After work I rode similar roads home because I wanted to head down to the bay for a little bit. The tide was high so I sat for a while listening to the water lapping at the sand and rocks that make up the shoreline. It was soothing and I was reminded of how pleasant this riding can be. Stars speckled the sky, mast lights reflected off the water and voices from people out on the boats drifted across the bay like muffled whispers.

I’m now at home sitting in a bathtub of cold water taking my physio’s advice to do this to improve my legs’ recovery. Well, he said to fill the tub with ice but I’m way too soft for that. And besides, the cold water out of our tap is very cold. I think I’ve been in here about half an hour so once this post is done I think it’s time to get out and find some food.

Total: 100.3km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,414.9km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

4 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 14

  1. That pony pic is just way too cute Andrew, congrats on another successful ride my friend! 🙂

    • That’s what I thought about the pony too. I’m glad it turned out because I had to use the full extent of my digi camera’s zoom function and rest the camera on my bike saddle to stop it shaking too much. Thanks for the encouragement 🙂 Am now at 73.5km into day 15

  2. At least in a cold bath, you won’t have a problem with steam getting into your computer (of whatever kind you’re writing with)!

    • Bahaha!!! Nope. I just propped the laptop up on the lid of the dirty washing basket and hoped not to bump it into the water. Random place to be on a computer but I just had to do something to force myself to stay in the water. Spent about 50 minutes in there and felt a lot better for it this morning.

Leave a Reply

