Cycling for Hope – Day 15

Brisbane city morning by Andrew Gills
Brisbane city morning, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I woke at 3:30am to get as many kilometers done before work as possible. It was my plan to be on the road by 4:00am. But when I found a flat rear tyre on my road bike things stopped going to plan. It turns out that there’s a bit of wire that is meant to form part of the puncture protection system that is actually sticking out of the tyre wall and into my tube. I’ll have to see whether cutting it back and covering it with tape will solve the problem tomorrow.

But in the meantime, I left home at 4:50am on the Purple Monster. I had to be at work by 8:30am so decided to ride into the city through Capalaba to check out the action on the Brisbane River. It turned out to be one of the nicest rides I’ve had so far.

By the time I got into the city, the riverside pathways were alive with walkers, joggers and cyclists. And then, on my ride down the South East Freeway Bikeway to work I joined the commuter cyclist crowds.

I used to be a proper commuter cyclist. FOr years in my early twenties I cycled to and from work every day. Over that period, my commute varied from 40km – 70km every day.

I enjoyed being part of the commuter crowd. My Purple Monster didn’t seem so out of place because commuters ride everything and anything. They ride road bikes, Surlys, mountain bikes and old bombs like my Purple Monster. Women wore skirts, men wore t-shirts and some people even wore lycra. Gear was carried in backpacks, baskets and panniers. It made me feel happy to be out there.

After work I had to look after my sister’s daughters so I cycled home, had a quick cold shower to try to help my legs recover, and then cycled to and from my sister’s house to finish the mileage.

Total: 103.3km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,518.2km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

Leave a Reply

