Cycling for Hope – Day 16

Highvale views by Andrew Gills
Highvale views, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

Day 16 was magnificent. Not only because I passed the half-way point in my 31 day 100km per day cycling challenge. But also because I had a great day.

I started the day by cycling to Beenleigh train station and riding the train into the city. Then I cycled to a friend’s house out in the beautiful Samford Valley, north-west of Brisbane. My friend is a fantastic cook and she made the most delicious chicken-stuffed potatoes for lunch (I had told her I crave potatoes) and we enjoyed a good old fashioned natter on her back verandah. It was absolutely fantastic and just what I needed to feel cheerful and normal again. Especially because we didn’t hardly talk about riding – we talked about everything else.

I was in such a good mood that I noticed all the small things that make cycling pleasurable.

Sweet scentred wattle flowers in bloom

Sweet scented wattle flowers in bloom

There were wattles in flower.

Leaf littered bikeway

Leaf littered bikeway

There were leaves littered across the bike way.

Fresh Local Provisions, Samford - Check it out if you are in the area

Fresh Local Provisions, Samford – Check it out if you are in the area

The discovery of an old friend’s fabulous shop and a chance to say “hello” for a few minutes.

Total: 110.4km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,628.6km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

 

8 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 16

  1. Can I pay from the US by VISA? 🙂

Leave a Reply

