Cycling for Hope – Day 19

The road is long by Andrew Gills
The road is long, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I was up well before the sun on day 19. I decided to try to get most of my 100km done before work so that I could have an easy relaxing night after the late night ride on day 18.

I was on the road by about 4:30am with a little under 4 hours of riding available before work. So I made a tactical decision to hit the V1 towards the Gold Coast because it’s a relatively quick ride with few traffic lights or traffic hassles.

I didn’t ride quickly but I made steady progress all the way to Coomera. There were plenty of other cyclists out riding. Those traveling my direction overtook me and disappeared off into the distance, their flickering tail lights glowing long after the hum of their wheels became inaudible. Those traveling towards me rocketed past in a whir of brightly coloured lycra and bright headlights.

By the time I got to work, I had covered 72km. A quick trip to the kebab shop at lunch (I really like their hot chips) brought me up to 74km. So, after work, I just had a gentle 26km commute home. Given that it’s only 14km home from work, I just did some easy laps of Loganholme and my neighbourhood to make up the difference.

I had time for a cold water bath last night so froze my legs off for half an hour before gobbling dinner (I have been so hungry this past week) and falling asleep on the lounge room floor.

Total: 100.1km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 1,930.6km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

Leave a Reply

