Cycling for Hope – Day 20

Pelican statues by Andrew Gills
Pelican statues, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

I started to hit the wall on day 20. I woke early to cycle into the city and back. I wanted to get some kilometers done before work. It didn’t take long before I realised just how fatigued I have become and I decided that once I completed my 100km I would take a sick day off work to try to recover. I needed sleep so badly.

Once in the city, I cycled along the waterfront from South Brisbane to West End. This was beautiful. The lights reflected off the water as the sun rose. Rowers were training on the river, and walkers and runners moved along the riverside paths.

The only downside of the ride was the behaviour of some cyclists on the shared bikeway. I kid you not, there was a bunch of about 20 riders who were traveling at full speed on a path that is only three bikes wide. I almost got cleaned up by them. It was totally inappropriate behaviour.

The day off work was helpful and allowed me to get a couple hours sleep. I still went to the office in the afternoon but I could do so by riding my motorbike there, which felt very civilised.

Total: 100.0km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 2,030.6km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

Leave a Reply

