Cycling for Hope – Day 22

Dusk at the boat ramp by Andrew Gills
Dusk at the boat ramp, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

What a difference 24 hours makes. While yesterday I wanted to sit on the side of the road and just top, today I was able to flip my mindset and enjoy the ride.

I slept in and started my riding in daylight. It’s amazing what sunshine can do to perk me up while riding. I only rode 29km before work but I enjoyed it. I’m still exhausted but that’s going to be my reality for this final week of Cycling for Hope. So I just have to suck it up.

To help me refocus, I took some time during my lunch break to watch a couple of YouTube videos about London-Edinbourgh-London (these videos here and here) and Paris-Brest-Paris (these videos here and here); rides that I’d love to do one day. The videos reminded me that it’s all about mental strength and determination. And about enjoying the experience for what it is.

We finish work early on Fridays so I rode home in daylight (14km), dropped my backpack and set off into the evening for the final 53km. I rode down to the waterfront at Redland Bay and followed the shared pathways around the coastline. It was so pretty to see the last rays of light reflecting off the water as the shadows lengthened.

It took me hours to ride the 53km. I got caught up watching the people fishing and launching boats from the boat ramps. I stopped to take photos of the water and stars.

As I rode, I thought about my bike. I managed to fix the front derailleur (the cable wasn’t snapped, it just needed adjusting). I read this blog post about how to set up the perfect randonneering bike. Given that the key is comfort, perhaps my bike is just right. Other than aching thigh muscles, the rest of my body hasn’t got sore at all through the ride yet. Not my shoulders, back or neck. I still need new head bearings and probably some thicker handlebar tape but they are consumables.

Total: 100.2km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 2,231.1km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here:ย https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.ย  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

7 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 22

  1. Nice job. Way to keep pushing through, finding the positive, seeking out mental and psychological reinforcements, and just DOING IT!
    I’m honored to “know” you!

  2. Great, I c that there is no need to worry anymore – you’re “BACK ON TRACK!” and will manage it your way! I think it’s great to make interesting stops! X

  3. Not long now…. You have come far!! As a motivation, each km you ride you change a life…a meal, a blanket .. In so many ways xxx

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Susan. I meant it when I said that once I get past 1/4 of the way I know I’m going to make it. Sure, there’s always going to be those days when I struggle but those moments will pass ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

