Cycling for Hope – Day 24

Company on the ride by Andrew Gills
Company on the ride, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

Day 24 was hands down the best day of Cycling for Hope so far. Other days have been wonderful, such as the day I cycled with my sister, or the day I cycled with D and his kids, or the day I visited my friend, or the day I had a picnic with my best friend. But nothing compares to riding in the company of others for the full 100km session.

Well, one thing does, and that’s the kindness of S who drove 120km to pick me up and drop me off after our ride. Not only that, but he also broke the wind (head wind – not smelly wind) for about 90km of our 100km ride. What a champion! (That’s S in the yellow jersey out front).

Water views

Water views

The ride was a route check for S’s Southern Manatee 100km Audax ride on Wednesday. The route took us past the water in Wynnum, Thornside and Birkdale before taking us inland through the remnant farmlands and hobby farms of Carbrook and Mount Cotton.

And then we climbed West Mount Cotton Road. The first climb took us up some 12% inclines to look back over views of the Gold Coast. Then we rolled along the lumps to a short climb to see a view of Brisbane City on the other side of the mountain.

The Wall (27% incline)

The Wall (27% incline)

But perhaps the biggest talking point was A’s magnificent climb up The Wall while the rest of us were forced to walk. A had only been cycling for about six months and yet he managed to power his way up this 27% incline with steely determination.

Me walking up The Wall

Me walking up The Wall

Me, I was reduced to laughing hysterically in happiness at a ride that cemented my enjoyment of being on two wheels and of the camaraderie of long distance cycling.

Thank you S for going out of your way to help me to join you. I can’t express enough how grateful I am. And have a fantastic time with your team next week at the Ride to Conquer Cancer.

Total: 102.7km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 2,434.6km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

2 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 24

  1. Amazing….xxx

Leave a Reply

