Cycling for Hope – Day 30 – The penultimate day

The end is in sight

The end is in sight

The end is in sight! Today was day 30. It is totally surreal to think that tomorrow I will have achieved something so enormous. I will have cycled just over 3,100km in 31 days while still going to work and university. To put that into perspective, it’s:

  • 3,100km from Brisbane to Katherine in the Northern Territory
  • 3,100km from Melbourne to Townsville via Sydney and Brisbane
  • 3,030km from Darwin to Adelaide
  • 2,600km from Amsterdam to Istanbul
  • 3,200km from Los Angeles to Chicago.

And I rode it all while still going to work and university. Of those 3,100km, I only had company for 330km. I rode the rest of the distance on my own with no one to break the wind for me or keep me motivated.

Today I rode down to Victoria Point to follow the waterfront back to Redland Bay before riding to Mum’s house to collect her to ride the next 45km together. It was fantastic to ride with Mum. We cruised along chatting where the road was wide enough. I haven’t ridden with Mum in a couple of months, so it was a real treat. At the end of our ride we wandered the Jan Powers Farmers Markets in Manly together with my partner and dad. It was lovely.

Unfortunately, after my ride with Mum, I was still 3.5km short of my 100km target. But it wasn’t all bad because my partner wanted to go out for a 5km walk, so I just rode my bike alongside her, which was lovely.

Total: 101.5km cycling
Cycling for Hope cumulative total: 3,039.9km

I’ve set up a Cycling for Hope Facebook page for those who are into Facebook and want to follow my 100km a day for 31 days cycling challenge that way. It’s a public page that you can follow here: https://www.facebook.com/CyclingForHope

All donations and sponsorship, whether $100 or $5, is greatly appreciated. You will received an Australian tax receipt from Rotary Australia Overseas Aid.  Click here to donate and read more about Nakuru Hope.

2 responses to “Cycling for Hope – Day 30 – The penultimate day

  1. Absolutely fantastic, can’t say anything more than that! Other than, great work!

Leave a Reply

