Lost in the Bird Cage

Choices choices by Andrew Gills
Choices choices, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

A kookooburra swoops across the track hunting breakfast. It’s big strong beak and brown wings making it recognisable, even though it wasn’t laughing. Wallabies hop away quickly as I disturb their eating grass. Horses in a paddock come to visit me as I ride by; naturally I stop to pat and talk to them.

I cruise down to the lower end of Bayview Conservation Park, keen to ride some flat sandy single track. It’s been dry and all the creeks are dried up. It’s nice to cruise Sharks Tail, The Maze and Scorpion without having to worry about getting my feet wet. I even manage to negotiate the beach sand-like dust bowls that threaten to unseat me. I am feeling good.

Then I discover that I’m lost. Well, not so much lost as riding in circles knowing full-well where I am but not quite sure how to get out of the loop. I’ve taken Bird Cage out to Kidd Road and thought I had ducked back into the bush on the new single track I found the other evening. But instead I find myself passing familiar logs and jumps.

I don’t usually mind being geographically embarrassed. But I have to be home by 7am to get ready for work and it’s already 6:55am by the time I find my way back to Kidd Road. I still have at least 8km left to ride home, even when I take the quick route along the sealed road.

Oh well … these things happen. 🙂

Total: 15-20km MTB (I broke the cycle computer on my MTB and haven’t yet replaced it)

Leave a Reply

