Running the single trails

Vegemite Trail by Andrew Gills
Vegemite Trail, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

Spring is for trail running. It’s getting light earlier and the air is not yet heavy with humidity. My run today wasn’t earth-shatteringly fast. In fact, it was quite the opposite. But that just means I got to spend more time enjoying the bush.

I ran a 5km loop from the Days Road end of Bayview Conservation Park. All but about 500m was single trail. There were plenty of wallabies and the bush is alive with flowers.

Here’s a video of the Fluffer trail:

What’s not to like about starting the day like this?

Total: 5km trail run

9 responses to “Running the single trails

  1. That looks like an awesome trail! I really like it when you get to a natural pause and two things happen. 1) You see an awful lot of nature staring at you and then 2) You say to yourself ‘what the…’

    πŸ™‚ Happy days.

    • It is a really cool trail. We have about 20km of single trail just 500m from my front door. I am slowly videoing them all. Unfortunately, I aggravated an old back injury on Tuesday morning when I slipped off a log. But hopefully I’ll be back out there by the weekend πŸ™‚

  2. Awesome! πŸ™‚ Looks like it’s all uphill, but it’s probably just the angle. Looks like you have a lot of things coming up!
    We’re hoping for a cooler fall. It was 98F here today, 100 yesterday (tied a record from back in the 1920s). I want some rain and cooler temps! ENJOY SPRING!

    • Yeah, one way is all uphill but if I run down that trail (or down the trail on the other side of the ridge after wogging up this one) then it’s downhill πŸ˜‰ Yeah, I have lots of adventures coming up … I am quite excited about it.

      Phwoar! 100’F! That’s insane! Spring has only just started here but it was already 89’F here yesterday. Mornings and evenings are still in the high 50Fs though … That will change soon.

      It’s funny isn’t it – we love the weather warming up at the start of summer. But by the end we’ve always had enough and just want it to cool down πŸ™‚

      • It is so true!! We finally had rain (first really since June). I forgot my umbrella so when I left my building, I took off my shoes and walked and splashed in every puddle and “river” I could find. My hair was soaked, and my dress too. It was glorious!

      • So excited to read about your adventures!

  3. That is indeed a great way to start your morning!

    • It sure was. Aggravating my sacro-illiac joint again (the lower back injury I had last year) was not so cool. But I’ve been straight to the physio and am confident I’ll be back on the trails by Saturday. I’ll take some more video next week when I go running so you can run vicariously through the video. My run on Saturday is a group run so I probably won’t film much because I’ll be too busy chatting. But next week – I’ll take a run for you to watch when you are bored but feel up to watching a shaky screen πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

