Walking tour guide

Playing hide & go seek by Andrew Gills
Playing hide & go seek, a photo by Andrew Gills on Flickr.

My uncle is visiting from Holland. He is staying with my parents who live near my home. So this morning we met at 5:20am at my house for a bushwalk in Bayview (my new favourite place in the world).

A thick white fog hung over the grass field as finches sung contently all around. Once in Bayview we wandered the single trails, winding our way between the trees and hopping across gullies.

I practiced speaking Dutch to my uncle (I need all the practice I can get) and tried to find the flattest route for him. See, while our hills in Bayview are low by most people’s standards (the highest hill we walked up today is just 62m above sea level), they are high by Dutch standards because that country is flat. I think my uncle will feel his calves tomorrow but I know he enjoyed the walk.

Total: 7.8km trail walk

Leave a Reply

