Glasshouse Mountains Trail Run: Flinders Tour

At 12.5km. I was feeling strong.

I did it! I completed my first 50km trail run today. And I did it the day after I completed the Conondale Range Great Walk so I am doubly proud of my efforts.

The Flinders Tour is part of the Glasshouse Mountains Trail Running series, which has a history dating back to 1990 when the Glasshouse 100 was the first 100 mile trail run in Australia. The Flinders Tour event, held every July, has a 10km, 25km and 50km option; I took the 50km options.

A lot of the course was on fire trail

I took the early start option because I wasn’t sure I’d make the cut-offs. I was moderately confident of making the 7 hours cut-off for the finish but didn’t think I’d make the 3:15 cut-off for 27km. I also didn’t want to run with the pressure of time chasing me. I wanted the luxury of knowing that I could totally bonk and walk half the course while still finishing within the adjusted 8 hour cut-off.

The course started with a nasty run up Mt Beerburrum. While the mountain is only about 289m high, the trail is bitumen and heads straight up. All but one of us in the early start walked the entire bitumen section of the climb. The views of the breaking dawn creeping over the Glasshouse Mountains were a brilliant way to start the run.

At 25km. Still feeling strong.

After Mt Beerburrum the course followed fire trails and short sections of single track through the pine forest plantations that surround the Glasshouse Mountains. I traveled well for the first 18km. I ran all the flats and downhills, and walked only some of the hills. At 18km I hit a small wall because my feet started to hurt a lot from the sharp gravel that covered much of the fire trail. But I walked my way through it for about 500m and then decided I was going to run to the 20km mark. That was all I needed because just after 20km I reached the third checkpoint where they had Endura, watermelon and salty pretzel sticks.

After the aid station I decided to run to 25km, take a photo and keep running to the 27km turn around. And that’s exactly what I did. I ran. I wanted to prove that I could reach 27km in 3:15. While I would have missed the cut-off if I’d started at the actual start time because I left the turn around checkpoint at 3:20, I was happy to have made it to the turn around in 3:15 and to be feeling strong. Just before the turn around I passed all the 25km runners who were running towards us. There were a lot of them and passing each other was difficult but it was a lovely change to running alone (I ran alone from about 8km to just before the 27km turn around).

A small stretch of single track through long grass.

After the turn around I felt strong as I ran towards the 30km mark but then started to get a bit lost in the enormity of the challenge. I had to fight my mind telling me that it was silly to be out there. But I was prepared for this eventuality and simply kept reminding myself what a blessing it is to be able to participate in this type of event. Just after 32km we ran down a short section of single track. I knew it was coming so for the 2km I was struggling I waited for the checkpoint so that I could enjoy the single track. It was rough and grassy; a fun area to run.

Occasionally we actually saw the Glasshouse Mountains

After the single track we ran on more fire trail. I was finding the going tough on my feet. While the Vibrams are great for my form, my feet definitely aren’t yet tough enough to handle this type of rocky terrain. I think it’s because I couldn’t move my toes to change the way they impacted against the rocks; they were just splayed in the shoes’ toes. So I decided to buy a pair of Merrel Trail Gloves as an alternate running shoe for this type of longer run where the surface will be too hard for my feet in the Vibrams. No doubt I’ll be able to run this type of course in Vibrams in future; I just need to give my feet time (you have all seen my training reports and probably realise I don’t really do enough miles to have tough feet yet).

This is where I hit the wall bad!

At 37.56km I hit the wall really badly. I had been running steadily more slowly since 30km with bursts of energy. I was still happy with my speed of 7.8kph. Fortunately, there were three ladies who were walking the 25km course who I came across as I hit the wall. I spent 2km walking with them. They kept me going by chatting to me. It was amazing. I was feeling horribly low and talking to them took my mind off the pain in my feet and the struggle in my mind.

And then I hit a checkpoint. I had eaten a Powerbar while I was walking, and stocked up on Endura, Coke, watermelons and salty pretzel sticks at the checkpoint. It did the trick. I started to run. And I felt so empowered and high that I took this short video clip to share with you all.

We had to run through this virtual obstacle course twice.

At the top of the hill I was walking up in that clip I had to navigate my way through an obstacle course of fallen tree trunks that were laying across the track. They were probably put there to stop dirt bikers from traveling on the trail but they also made life difficult for me. But not so difficult that I couldn’t keep going. After crossing the tree trunks I ran all the way down the next hill and then started to catch back up to the runners who had overtaken me when I was struggling with the wall.

The view back at the 50km mark

Exhausted at 50km and hating the fact that the course was an extra 1.64km long

And then it happened. I hit that sweet spot where I could keep running through my exhaustion. I caught up with and overtook five experienced ultra runners who I’d been trading places with all day (they had also taken the early start). And I just kept going! I decided that I wanted to finish the race in less than 7 hours. My mind took over and I was able to ignore the pain in my body (to an extent). The extra 1.64km over 50km was really tough but I pushed through. The mind is stronger than the body.

I took these two video clips with my phone to share the final stretch of my 50km trail run with you. Sorry about the quality though.

Total: 51.64km in 6:48.

16 responses to “Glasshouse Mountains Trail Run: Flinders Tour

  1. Proud of you Andrew, great effort!

    • Thank you 🙂 6:48 for 50km is a long way from our Trailwalker experience 😉 … Seems so strange to think that was only June last year. That’s what inspired me to get started with this whole running and ultra thing …

      Remember how we thought the teams who ran the whole 100km were crazy … I’m hoping to attempt my first 100km next year.

  2. Well done!! Loved it on the last video when they saw you coming and all started cheering 🙂 Fantastic work; all the pictures and your account make me feel like doing one even though I’m not much of a runner!

    Oh, and I chuckled cos I hadn’t heard your voice before and had never thought about the fact you’d have an Aussie accent 😀

    • Thank you Rosemary 🙂 . The people at the finish line cheering stayed there all day. Everyone got a cheer. It was brilliant. And with the sport having such a close community, most people had their name called as they came to the line. It certainly lifted me.

      LOL about the accent – mine is particularly bad. I almost can’t listen to myself speaking in those video clips because in my head I am sure I sound a little more refined 😉 .

  3. Well Done, that’s a fantastic effort. I would like to publish an Editorial on your Trail Run through the Glasshouse Mountain. I’m the editor for http://www.beerwah.com a Community Website in Glasshouse Region and I am focused on fostering community spirit and participation in the region. I will see if I can pm you on this website. – kindest regards Roland

    • Hi Roland,

      I’ve got your email address through my blog so will email you today. I’m running out of bandwidth at home so might have to wait until I go to work later today. I think the Glasshouse race was awesome for participation.

  4. Just awesome. So glad I read this and watched the videos before this morning’s workout. Very inspiring and you may have given me some new goals to think about for next year. Thank you for sharing the experience and your runner’s high at the end. I feel like running would be easier (or at least cooler) if I could do it with an Australian accent. 😉

    • LOL about the Australian accent. I feel the same way about some of the American, Canadian, South African and British accents. 😉

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post and videos. I have been watching Richard Bowles’ blog and videos of his run of the Bicentennial National Trail here in Australia and they have been inspiring me. The BNT is over 5,000km long and runs all the way up the Great Dividing Range, which runs all the way up the Australian east coast.

  5. my favorite part of this “i am really proud of myself” as youshould be, we done!

  6. Fab effort Andrew. Well done to you 🙂

  7. Congratulations on your first 50K! Woo hoo! Awesome job! You have every right to feel proud of yourself.

  8. Pingback: 2012 in review « Transventure

  9. Pingback: A cute mascot for my trip | Transventure

Leave a comment