Perth City to Surf

I won an entry to the Perth City to Surf race, which is being held here on the west coast on 26 August.

I happen to be on holidays that week so have asked my partner whether we can change our holiday destination plans(again) to Western Australia. She said ‘yes’ so I can accept the prize.

All I did was ‘like’ a post on the Pan Pacific Perth’s Facebook page. We always stay at the Pan Pacific when we come to Perth for work.

Now I have to go back to the hotel to find out whether I’ll be running the 12km, half marathon or marathon. Would it be silly to try to negotiate entry to my first marathon with my already ridiculous race schedule? πŸ˜‰

9 responses to “Perth City to Surf

  1. Lucky you πŸ™‚

    • It is lucky. The thing I didn’t mention in my post though is that it costs about $210 each way to fly to Perth from Brisbane and that accommodation in Perth is HIDEOUSLY expensive. So it’s really an expensive prize. LOL. But we were going on holidays anyway so I can justify it … and it will be really special to have my partner at my first marathon and to then have a holiday with her … South Western Australia is really lovely. For us on the east coast it’s like going to a whole other country … it’s further to fly than New Zealand or Asia too πŸ˜‰

  2. Silly: probably. But we runners do things like that, don’t we? I say go for it, and just have fun!

    • LOL. I have accepted the prize but am waiting on the code to enter. Once I get that I’ll organise a holiday. I’ve found a lovely 9 day itinerary that will be relaxing.

  3. Thats a great prize. I did that run in 1992 and loved it. The beach at the end is stunning and a great way to recover.

    • That’s what I’m looking forward to – the beach at the end. And to having my partner there to meet me when I cross the finish line … she works a weekend shift at her job so she never gets to watch me run. But we’re both on holidays together for this one so it’s going to be really special to have her there … and the beach πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the tip. I’m not much of a beach swimmer anyway so am unlikely to enter the water. I’m the guy who wears his board shorts, takes off his shirt, gets his ankles and shins into the water but then baulks at the thought of big waves and hungry sharks πŸ˜‰ . I hear the sharks are big in the West …

Leave a Reply

